Marenna – No Regrets

Marenna is a project started in 2014 by songwriter and lead singer Rodrigo Marenna, an experienced Brazilian musician who was part of many local bands.

Marenna’s focus is to launch the vocalist to an international career, bringing to the public his own compositions and to expose the audience to the musical influences from ’80s AOR, early ’90s Melodic Hard Rock and contemporary elements of sounds and arrangements which influenced him.
Opening song “Reason to Live” gives you strong Vocals and the song is a straight forward rocker. Vocals and song are very reminisent of early ‘Y&T’ with Dave Meniketti. Next up was “Can’t let You Go” which was fast paced from beginning to end with a very nice Guitar Solo towards the end. “Never Surrender” continues the commercial AOR sound, but still maintaining a harder edge and some nice vocal work. The song “Come Back” is a more mellower tune adding some different dynamics to the album. “The Price” starts with a catchy shuffle and seems to draw you into the song, all of the songs seem to be geared for commercial radio. “Fall in Love Again” adds more keyboards to the mix. Then “About Love” which at first listen reminded me of early Loverboy. Next, “Forever” starts but you get the feeling all the songs flow into each other with a very similar undertone. I do start to wonder where the ballad is and then “So Different” winds up and turns out to be a breath of fresh air. Next is the self titled “No Regrets” which as you would expect by now a very melodic rock song performed by a solid Vocalist and backed by seasoned musicians. “No Regrets” is the kind of albums that fans of the pure side of Melodic Rock love from start to finish. There’s no tricks or slightly experimental tracks here, just true ’80/’90s music with non stop melodies.



Marenna is:

Rodrigo Marenna – lead & backing vocals
Jonas Godoy – guitar, bass, keyboards, backing vocals
Guilherme Mello, Matheus Tofehrn – drums
Sasha Zavistanovicz, Geraldo Aita – guest lead guitar
Arthur Appel, Aaron Alves – backing vocals

“No Regrets” tracklist:

01. Reason To Live (Feat. Rafael Netto – Drums)
02. Can´t Let You Go (Feat. William Mello-Drums/Mauro Caldart-Soil)
03. Never Surrender
04. Come Back
05. The Price (Feat. Rafael Netto – Drums)
06. Fall In love Again  **
07. About Love (Feat. Fernando Mig-Soil)
08. Forever (Feat. Mauro Caldart-Soil)
09. So Different (Feat. Bruno Mello-Soil)
10. No Regrets
**  (Feat. Andria Busic – Guitar, Bass, Keyboard, B. Vocals/Ivan Busic – Drums/Sasha Z.-Soil)

Band: Marenna
Reviewed by:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.