Scanner – The Judgement

scanner_thejudgement_coverPreviously known as Lions Breed (which released the 1985 album „Damn The Night“ via the label Earthshaker), the group changed the vocalists and the drummer and became SCANNER in 1986, adopting an on stage sci-fi image. SCANNER appeared on the „Doomsday News“ compilation by Noise Records, Berlin, in 1987 with the track „Galactos“. The group’s debut album „Hypertrace“ was produced by ELOY vocalist Frank Bornemann and was released in 1988. Backing vocals for this outing were contributed by Ralph Scheepers (today Primal Fear). The Japanese release of this album added the exclusive track „Galactos“ from said compilation. In 1991 the second album „Terminal Earth“ had been released and the group had parted ways with vocalist Michael Knoblich and replaced him with the Yugoslavian born ex-Angel Dust front man S.L. Coe. When personality clashes erupted between Coe and his band mates the vocalist was forced out in 1993. Guitarist and band leader Axel Julius (also a producer known as Nigel Boston) recruited a new line-up for SCANNER to release the „Mental Reservation“ album in 1995 for the labels Massacre Records and JVC Victor Entertainment (Japan only). The band comprised Polish vocalist Haridon Lee, bassist John A.B.C. Smith and drummer D.D. Bucco for this album, although Smith was succeeded by Marc Simon shortly after the record was released.
SCANNER 2014-03-221997’s „Ball Of The Damned“ proved to be an ambitious affair as the band took on a cover version of Queen’s epic „Innuendo“. Ralph Scheepers appeared once more lending vocals to the song „Puppet On A String“. The album was promoted with a European headliner tour with support act Unrest, followed by shows with Fates Warning and Omen. In summer ‘97 SCANNER appeared at the Wacken Open Air in Germany for the first time. SCANNER‘s released a brand new studio album in 2002, entitled „Scantropolis“. At this stage the band featured female vocalist Lisa Croft, guitarists Axel Julius and Thilo Zaun, bass player Marc Simon, keyboard player Johannes Brunn and drummer Jan Zimmer.
In 2003, Greek vocalist Efthimios Ioannidis joined the band and is SCANNER’s most constant singer until today. SCANNER played a lot of shows all around Europe in the past years and will come up with their 6th album „The Judgement“ in January 2015. “The Judgement” Thousands of loyal SCANNER fans will be delighted to hear that the band’s going to release their new album „The Judgement“ on February 17th, 2015! It will feature what the band is well known for: true, uncompromising heavy metal!
The production, done in the band’s own s1s Studio, brings SCANNER back to its roots.
There are catchy songs like the album‘s title track and songs that will have you chanting and singing along („Pirates“), and even high-speed metal tracks („Fuck The Bastards“) as well as hymns („The Race“) and much more. Metal heads worldwide will see that it was worth the wait and they will get exactly what they’ve expected – without making any compromises!
– The 6th album of the German power speed metal band SCANNER from Gelsenkirchen, with vocalist’s Efthimios Ioannidis’ first appearance on a SCANNER album.
– Recorded, mixed and produced by Axel A. J. Julius at s1s Studio in Gelsenkirchen, Germany.
– Mastered by Svante Forsbäck (Rammstein, Vollbeat, Powerwolf) at Chartmakers in Helsinki, Finland.
– Cover artwork, design and illustrations by Anestis Goudas, (, Greece.
– SCANNER photography by Ursula Deja-Schnieder, ( – Duisburg, Germany.
– Video clip for the title song „The Judgement“ available by the end of December 2014 on all social Media websites and pages of the band!
Efthimios Ioannidis – Vocals
Axel A.J. Julius – Guitars
Andreas Zeidler – Guitars
Jonathan Sell – Bass
Patrick Klose – Drums
Dirk Biesgen – Additional Keys
Franz Eicberger – Drums
1988 Hypertrace
1989 Terminal Earth
1995 Mental Reservation
1997 Ball Of The Damned
2002 Scantropolis
2015 The Judgement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.